

Test-of-Time Award

Award Committee
Christian S. Jensen (Chair), Vana Kalogeraki, Jianliang Xu

for having inspired many researchers in the area of wireless sensor networks

Published at MDM 2007, the paper anticipates a proliferation of low-cost wireless sensors. In this setting, the paper envisions global-scale, data-oriented sensor networks, or a Sensor Internet. More specifically, the paper proposes a middleware prototype that aims to support a range of purposes, such as (i) providing a virtual sensor abstraction on top of underlying sensor hardware, (ii) enabling of sensor-data integration and distributed query processing, and (iii) facilitating sensor mobility. This visionary paper has proven to be very influential. Notably, it has inspired many researchers in its area, as evidenced by it being cited frequently.





TEST-OF-TIME AWARD

AWARDED TO

KARL ABERER (EPFL), MANFRED HAUSWIRTH (TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF BERLIN AND FRAUNHOFER FOKUS, GERMANY), ALI SALEHI (TERADATA, AUSTRALIA)

FOR THEIR PAPER

INFRASTRUCTURE FOR DATA PROCESSING IN LARGE-SCALE INTERCONNECTED SENSOR NETWORKS (PUBLISHED AT IEEE MDM 2007)

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng MDM 2021

Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

PROGRAM CHAIRS

GENERAL CHAIRS

Congratulations to Test-of-Time Award Winners









Karl Aberer (EPFL), Manfred Hauswirth (Technical University of Berlin and Fraunhofer FOKUS), and Ali Salehi (Teradata, Australia)

Best Paper Award

Award Committee

Takahiro Hara (Chair), Panos K. Chrysanthis, Evaggelia Pitoura, Kai Zheng

based on novelty, technical completeness and applicability





BEST PAPER AWARD

AWARDED TO

QIAN TAO (BEIHANG UNIVERSITY), YONGXIN TONG (BEIHANG UNIVERSITY), SHUYUAN LI (BEIHANG UNIVERSITY), YUXIANG ZENG (HONG KONG UNIV. OF SCIENCE & TECH.), ZIMU ZHOU (SINGAPORE MANAGEMENT UNIVERSITY), KE XU (BEIHANG UNIVERSITY)

FOR THEIR PAPER
A DIFFERENTIALLY PRIVATE TASK PLANNING FRAMEWORK
FOR SPATIAL CROWDSOURCING

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng

PROGRAM CHAIRS



Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

GENERAL CHAIRS





BEST PAPER RUNNER-UP AWARD

AWARDED TO

HAINING TAN, DI YAO, TAO HUANG, BAOLI WANG, QUANLIANG JING, JINGPING BI (INSTITUTE OF COMPUTING TECHNOLOGY, CHINESE ACADEMY OF SCIENCES)

FOR THEIR PAPER

META-LEARNING ENHANCED NEURAL ODE FOR CITYWIDE NEXT

POI RECOMMENDATION

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng

PROGRAM CHAIRS



Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

GENERAL CHAIRS

Best Student Paper Award

Award Committee

Takahiro Hara (Chair), Panos K. Chrysanthis, Evaggelia Pitoura, Kai Zheng





BEST STUDENT PAPER AWARD

AWARDED TO

HAO CHENG (UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND), SHUYUE WEI (BEIHANG UNIVERSITY), LINGYU ZHANG (DIDICHUXING INC.), ZIMU ZHOU (SINGAPORE MANAGEMENT UNIVERSITY), YONGXIN TONG (BEIHANG UNIVERSITY)

FOR THEIR PAPER
ENGAGING DRIVERS IN RIDE HAILING VIA COMPETITION:
A CASE STUDY WITH ARENA

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng MDM 2021

Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

PROGRAM CHAIRS

GENERAL CHAIRS





BEST STUDENT PAPER RUNNER-UP AWARD

AWARDED TO

AKIL SEVIM (UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, RIVERSIDE), AHMED ELDAWY (UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, RIVERSIDE)

FOR THEIR PAPER

HQ-FILTER: HIERARCHY-AWARE FILTER FOR EMPTY-RESULTING QUERIES IN INTERACTIVE EXPLORATION

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng



Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

PROGRAM CHAIRS

GENERAL CHAIRS

Best Demo Paper Award

Award Committee Cheng Long, Bin Yang

based on fitness to IEEE MDM's mandate, functionality comprehensiveness, video presentation, and demonstration





BEST DEMO PAPER AWARD

AWARDED TO

BRIAN NIXON, SAYANTANI BHATTACHARJEE, BENJAMIN GRAYBILL, CONSTANTINOS COSTA, SUDHIR PATHAK, WALTER SCHNEIDER, PANOS K. CHRYSANTHIS (UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH)

FOR THEIR PAPER

HEALTHDIST: A CONTEXT, LOCATION AND PREFERENCE-AWARE SYSTEM FOR SAFE NAVIGATION

Cheng Long Bin Yang

DEMONSTRATION CHAIRS



Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

GENERAL CHAIRS

Best Industry and Application Paper Award

Award Committee Chen Lei, Raghu Ganti

based on the review comments, video presentation and research topic





BEST INDUSTRY AND APPLICATION PAPER AWARD

AWARDED TO

CONSTANTINOS COSTA[†], BRIAN NIXON[†], SAYANTANI BHATTACHARJEE[†], BENJAMIN GRAYBILL[†], DEMETRIOS ZEINALIPOUR-YAZTI[‡], WALTER SCHNEIDER[†], PANOS K. CHRYSANTHIS[†] ([†]UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, [‡]UNIVERSITY OF CYPRUS)

FOR THEIR PAPER
A CONTEXT, LOCATION AND PREFERENCE-AWARE SYSTEM FOR
SAFE PEDESTRIAN MOBILITY

Chen Lei Raghu Ganti



Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

INDUSTRY & APPLICATIONS CHAIRS

GENERAL CHAIRS

PhD Forum D&I Award

Award Committee
Sihem Amer-Yahia[‡]

for an overall inclusive presentation, which is gender neutral (in narrative and in figures), avoids exclusionary examples, illustrates color blind inclusive graphs (with patterns and not only colors), is organized in easily readable slides and figures and achieves clarity of embedded video/animations





PHD FORUM D&I AWARD

AWARDED TO
RAKAN ALSEGHAYER (UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH)

FOR THE PRESENTATION OF THEIR PAPER
RACOON: RAPID CONTACT TRACING OF MOVING OBJECTS
USING SMART INDEXES

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng MDM 2021

Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

PROGRAM CHAIRS

GENERAL CHAIRS

People's Choice of Best Pitch Video Award

Award Committee
IEEE MDM 2021 attendees

popular vote





PEOPLE'S CHOICE OF BEST PITCH VIDEO AWARD

AWARDED TO
RAKAN ALSEGHAYER
(UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH)

FOR THEIR PAPER
RACOON: RAPID CONTACT TRACING OF MOVING OBJECTS
USING SMART INDEXES

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng



Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

PROGRAM CHAIRS

GENERAL CHAIRS





PEOPLE'S CHOICE OF BEST PITCH VIDEO RUNNER-UP AWARD

AWARDED TO

Francesco Buccafurri, Vincenzo De Angelis, Maria Francesca Idone, Cecilia Labrini (Università Mediterranea di Reggio Calabria)

FOR THEIR PAPER

A DISTRIBUTED LOCATION TRUSTED SERVICE ACHIEVING K-ANONYMITY AGAINST THE GLOBAL ADVERSARY

Panos K. Chrysanthis Evaggelia Pitoura Kai Zheng

PROGRAM CHAIRS



Vana Kalogeraki Nick Koudas Jianliang Xu

GENERAL CHAIRS



Congratulations to all awardees!