DMSN 2006
3rd International Workshop on Data Management for Sensor Networks
To be held in conjunction with VLDB 2006
September 11, 2006, Seoul, Korea
Call for Papers
Topics of Interest

» Keynote Talk
» Proceedings (PDF, 9MB)
Conference Info:
VLDB 2006
DMSN 2004
DMSN 2005

Call for Papers
(Printer-friendly versions:   PDF,   text)
---  C A L L   F O R  P A P E R S  ---

3rd International Workshop on Data Management for Sensor Networks (DMSN'06)
               (held in conjunction with VLDB 2006)

                  September 11, 2006, Seoul, KOREA



The  workshop will  focus on  the  challenges of  data processing  and
management  in networks of  remote, wireless,  battery-powered sensing
devices  (sensor  networks).   The  power-constrained,  lossy,  noisy,
distributed, and remote nature of such networks means that traditional
data management techniques often cannot be applied without significant
re-tooling.  Furthermore,  new challenges associated  with acquisition
and processing of  live sensor data mean that  completely new database
techniques must also be developed.


We will solicit papers that  address all aspects of data management in
sensor networks.   Particular emphasis will be given  to the following
topics, as they relate to sensor networks:

* data replication and consistency in noisy and lossy environments
* database languages for sensor tasking
* distributed data storage and indexing
* energy-efficient data acquisition and dissemination
* in-network query processing
* integration of sensor network data into traditional and streaming
  data management systems
* networking support for data processing
* techniques for managing loss, uncertainty, and noise
* query optimization
* privacy protection for sensory data

Submitted papers  must not have  been published or currently  be under
consideration for publication at another venue.

We are primarily interested  in position papers, vision papers, system
designs and papers that address  new challenges for data management in
sensor  network environments. As  such, we  expect that  the submitted
papers will have a strong  network component and go beyond traditional
database systems.

Questions about the conference scope should be directed to the program 
co-chairs at

Abstract submission:   Wed, Jun  7, 2006 (midnight EST)
Paper submission:      Wed, Jun 14, 2006 (midnight EST)
Notification:          Mon, Jul 17, 2006
Early Registration:    Sun, Jul 30, 2006
Camera-ready due:      Mon, Aug 07, 2006
Workshop:              Mon, Sep 11, 2006


All  submissions  will be  handled  electronically.  More details  are
posted on the web site,

Full papers in PDF format must be submitted by June 14, 2006 (midnight
Eastern  Standard Time).   Papers  should be  in  the ACM  Proceedings
camera ready format (double-column, at most 6 pages in 9pt font).  The
format of your  submission must be for US "Letter"  size paper (8.5 by
11  inches).  Please note  that A4  is not  equivalent to  US "Letter"
size.  See for more details and a link to
the ACM Proceedings template.

Questions  about the  submission  process should  be  directed to  the
program co-chairs at


Our goal  is to  fill an  important gap in  the community  by bringing
interested database  researchers together to  identify future research
challenges and opportunities.  As such, the workshop will be organized
in  a  way to  foster  interaction and  exchange  of  ideas among  the
participants. For this reason we expect  to have longer than usual Q &
A periods after paper presentations and at least one panel discussion.


General Chairs:
    Alexandros Labrinidis    and    Samuel R. Madden  
    CS, U. of Pittsburgh            CSAIL, MIT

Program Committee Chairs:
    Amol Deshpande           and    Qiong Luo       
    CS, U. of Maryland              CS, HKUST

Steering Committee:
    Panos Chrysanthis,      University of Pittsburgh
    Mike Franklin,          University of California, Berkeley
    Johannes Gehrke,        Cornell University
    Joe Hellerstein, 	    University of California, Berkeley


Amr El Abbadi               University of California, Santa Barbara
Andrew Campbell             Dartmouth College
Ugur Cetintemel             Brown University
Ming-Syan Chen              National University of Taiwan
Graham Cormode              Lucent Bell Laboratories
Isabel Cruz                 University of Illinois at Chicago
Peter Fischer               ETH Zurich
Minos Garofalakis           Intel Research Berkeley
Dimitrios Gunopulos         University of California, Riverside
Himanshu Gupta              SUNY Stony Brook
Wei Hong                    Arched Rock Corporation
Yan Huang                   University of North Texas
Zachary Ives                University of Pennsylvania
Yannis Kotidis              Athens University of Economics and Business
Dik Lee                     HKUST
Wang-Chien Lee              Pennsylvania State University
Jianzhong Li                Harbin Institute of Technology
Sharad Mehrotra             University of Californi, Irvine
Gianluca Moro               Universita' di Bologna
Mario Nascimento            University of Alberta
Silvia Nittel               University of Maine
Sunil Prabhakar             Purdue University
Rajeev Rastogi              Bell Labs Research, India
Nick Roussopoulos           University of Maryland
Simonas Saltenis            Aalborg University
Peter Scheuermann           Northwestern University
Sang Son                    University of Virginia
Anthony Stefanidis          University of Maine
Kian-Lee Tan                National University of Singapore
Jianliang Xu                Hong Kong Baptist University
Jeffrey Xu Yu               Chinese University of Hong Kong
Jun Yang                    Duke University
Dongqing Yang               Peking University
Vladimir Zadorozhny         University of Pittsburgh